Member Access

How To Delete Your Default Admin User Name Safely

How to delete your default admin user

If you are still using a default admin or want to delete another user, this step-by-step process will make sure that you don’t lose any of your valuable content and to help increase the security of your site. You can either watch the video or follow the step-by-step screenshots.

This is also the process to use to change your username.

Just follow these simple but important steps.

Before you start, just for peace of mind, be sure you have a latest backup of your database if you are self-hosted.

First, create a new user. Go to your sidebar, find user and click on “add user”. You will see a screen like below. Now you can create a new username for yourself.

1. Use a different email than you used on your default username (no two users can have the same email). You can always change that later if you want.

2. Choose a strong password. None of this pet name, 123456 or other nonsense. All my passwords are 16 characters including upper and lower case letters, numbers and at least 3 special characters.

3. Finally, where the arrow is pointing, don’t forget to assign yourself the role of administrator. This is critical because once you delete your old username, this is the only way you will have full access to your site.

Adding a new user

 

Once you have created the new user, and have either memorized or noted your new password somewhere, log out of your admin page and log back in with you new username and password. If you succeed in getting back in, you can delete your old “admin” username.

Click on users and you will now see both your old and new usernames.

Under your old “admin,” find delete and click on it.

Once you click on delete, you will get the page below.

Deleting the admin

Now this is the important step.

Before you delete this user, attribute all your posts and links to your new username. This transfers all your content you have created, including pages to the new user name.

What happens if you don’t do this? All of your posts and pages will disappear in the blink of an eye. I’ve seen it happen, and it’s ugly. (Remember, that is why I suggested you have a latest backup of your database, just in case you didn’t listen.)

assigning posts to the new username

Confirm deletion and you are good to go. Bye, bye admin!

Are you still using the default “admin” as your username?

Any more questions?

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

css.php