Member Access

How to delete your default admin user

If you are still using a default admin or want to delete another user, this step-by-step process will make sure that you don’t lose any of your valuable content and to help increase the security of your site. You can either watch the video or follow the step-by-step screenshots.

This is also the process to use to change your username.

<embed src="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=30236938" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="400" height="300"></embed>

Step-by-step screenshots of doing this.

Just follow these simple but important steps.

Before you start, just for peace of mind, be sure you have a latest backup of your database if you are self-hosted.

First, create a new user. Go to your sidebar, find user and click on “add user”. You will see a screen like below. Now you can create a new username for yourself.

1. Use a different email than you used on your default username (no two users can have the same email). You can always change that later if you want.

2. Choose a strong password. None of this pet name, 123456 or other nonsense. When my wife was a teacher, she used our (then) cat’s name for the password on her classroom computer. One of her students, figured out her password, (these were 4th graders) got in and tried to change his grades. If a 10-year-old can figure it out, it’s too easy.

3. Finally, where the arrow is pointing, don’t forget to assign yourself the role of administrator. This is critical because once you delete your old username, this is the only way you will have full access to your site.

Adding a new user

 

Once you have created the new user, and have either memorized or noted your new password somewhere, log out of your admin page and log back in with you new username and password. If you succeed in getting back in, you can delete your old “admin” username.

Click on users and you will now see both your old and new usernames.

Under your old “admin,” find delete and click on it.

Once you click on delete, you will get the page below.

Deleting the admin

 

Now this is the important step.

Before you delete this user, attribute all your posts and links to your new username. This transfers all your content you have created, including pages to the new user name.

What happens if you don’t do this? All of your posts and pages will disappear in the blink of an eye. I’ve seen it happen, and it’s ugly. (Remember, that is why I suggested you have a latest backup of your database, just in case you didn’t listen.)

assigning posts to the new username

 

Confirm deletion and you are good to go. Bye, bye admin!

Are you still using the default “admin” as your username?

Any more questions?

If you would like to watch a full video that reviews Creating and Managing Users, sign up for my newsletter WPChatter and get the full WPStarter video series for free.

, ,

17 Responses to How to delete your default admin user

  1. DennisJSmith April 22, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    Great information and a much safer way than the plugin I posted. :-) I’ve pinned this information to my WordPress pinboard on Pinterest. Thanks Bob!

    • bobWP April 22, 2012 at 9:50 am #

       @DennisJSmith you are welcome… there is just so many different ways to do things in WordPress, and I can tell you, it takes time to find those one’s that work best : )

      • DennisJSmith April 22, 2012 at 10:46 am #

         @bobWP I’m still looking for a solution on a project I’ve been working on. I can’t find a membership plugin that allows for members to sign-up, pay the annual fee, display a list of members, let them edit their profiles and lets others search the members list.

        • bobWP April 22, 2012 at 11:02 am #

           @DennisJSmith I didn’t look through the features of this one, but it involves multi-sites and buddy press, so not sure if it fits the bill, but you might want to check it out http://premium.wpmudev.org/project/membership

  2. krishna April 17, 2013 at 7:39 am #

    see my website and answer me :
    How to delete/hide the word “admin” below every video post
    and also duration.
    pls help

    • Bob Dunn April 17, 2013 at 8:49 am #

      HI Krishna, actually what you are seeing is something “you” only see when you are logged in.

  3. krishna April 17, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    Nope this is my web address tamijuly.com you can refer it and pls reply”

    even when i logged out,i used to see it.
    i know how to bring the duration but don’t know how to remove it from the Main page

    • Bob Dunn April 18, 2013 at 7:37 am #

      Yes, I am not seeing it… and you may have misunderstood this post. When I talk about deleting the “admin” i mean if you are still using it for your username. And if it’s showing up where you have seen it, again, should only happen when you are logged in, as I don’t see it as a visitor to your site.

  4. Rose June 26, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

    Hi Bob, Thanks(!) for your easy to follow directions on how to change the admin username.

    A question… I developed and maintain a website that has 2 admins. It’s a blog and all the posts are written/posted by the other admin (as in other than myself). When I get to the last step, do I still “attribute all posts and links to” the new user (me)?

    Thanks!

    • Bob Dunn June 27, 2013 at 6:48 am #

      Hey Rose, you can do it either way. You can assign it to your new username and the other admin. Just depends on who you want the posts to show from. As long as it’s one of them, you are good to go.

  5. Rose June 28, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    Thank you! I appreciate your help and quick reply.

  6. Staci Ann February 21, 2014 at 8:01 am #

    Hi Bob… Thank you so much for the tutorial. I do have a question… what about any comments made by the admin account? Will they disappear if that admin account is deleted? One of my blogs is several years old, and I am now trying to change my admin name… but I’ve made hundreds of comments under my original admin name, that I would hate to lose… any insight would be great appreciated, thank you!

    • Bob Dunn February 21, 2014 at 9:34 am #

      Hi Staci, no. What you want to make sure and do is create that new username first, and then when you delete you old admin account make sure and assign all posts to your new username. It will just replace it. Then if you would rather have that name stay the same, in your profile, type in your old name as your nickname and assign the nickname to show publicly. The most important piece is assigning you old posts to you new username.

      • Staci Ann February 21, 2014 at 11:08 am #

        Thank you so much for the quick reply; I appreciate the help!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Basic Security Tips for Your Wordpress Blog - September 16, 2013

    […] If you want more step by step instructions, this post has step by step instructions on how to delete the default  WP admin username. […]

  2. 3 Essential WordPress Security Tips - September 16, 2013

    […] If you want more step by step instructions, this post has step by step instructions on how to delete the default  WP admin username. […]

  3. 3 Essential WordPress Security Tips - December 23, 2013

    […] If you want more step by step instructions, this post has step by step instructions on how to delete the default  WP admin username. […]

Leave a Reply

css.php